Key Facts
| School type | Independent day, co-educational, IB World School, ages 3 to 18 |
|---|---|
| Location | Egham, Surrey |
| Entry points | 7+, 11+, 16+ |
| Assessment | No entrance exam; review of the full application, including school reports, teacher references, a student questionnaire and any standardised test scores, with English as an Additional Language tests where relevant |
| Test provider | No entrance exam; standardised test scores from the current school are considered if available |
| Day fees (2026/27) | Grades 5-6 £16,230 per semester; Grades 7-8 £16,320; Grades 9-10 £18,540; Grade 11 £18,570; Grade 12 £18,720 (Pre-Kindergarten £7,770; Grades 3-4 £13 |
| Scholarships and bursaries | No scholarships listed; means-tested bursaries can cover up to 100% of tuition fees |
Figures correct at the time of writing. Confirm current fees and deadlines with the school or university directly. Compare fees at other independent schools.
Getting into ACS Egham International School depends on an online application that the admissions team reviews as a whole, and no entrance exam exists at any entry point. The review draws on previous school records, teacher references, a student questionnaire and any standardised test scores, and it applies to Lower School entry from age 3, Upper School entry from age 11 and the Grade 11 start of the IB Diploma years.
Applications are accepted throughout the year, so families are not tied to a single sitting or deadline. Availability varies by grade, which is why the school advises applying early, and a full grade leads to a waiting list with a call when a place opens.
| Entry point | Year group | Assessment | Interview | Places |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7+ | Lower School (ages 3 to 11), rolling entry | No entrance exam; review of the full application, including school reports, teacher references, a student questionnaire and any standardised test scores | Not stated | Not published |
| 11+ | Upper School (ages 11 to 18), rolling entry | No entrance exam; review of the full application, including school reports, teacher references, a student questionnaire and any standardised test scores, with English as an Additional Language tests where relevant | Not stated | Not published |
| 16+ | Grade 11 (IB Diploma or High School Diploma pathway, ages 16 to 18) | No entrance exam; the same full application review as other grades | Not stated | Not published |
Entry points and places
ACS Egham admits students on a rolling basis, so a child can join at the start of the academic year or part-way through it, subject to space in the relevant grade. The school is divided into a Lower School for ages 3 to 11 and an Upper School for ages 11 to 18, and grades run from Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 12.
Grade placement is based first on date of birth, although the school says it can be flexible for each family. A grade equivalence chart on the admissions process page maps class ages and curricula across education systems, which helps families arriving from outside the English system. The school does not publish a number of places or forms of entry for any grade.
- Lower School: ages 3 to 11, with children able to start from age 3
- Upper School: ages 11 to 18, covering the IB Middle Years Programme, IB Diploma Programme, IB Career-related Programme and High School Diploma
- Grade 11: start of the two final years, for students aged 16 to 18
How the main assessment works
No entrance exam is set at ACS Egham, and each applicant is assessed individually through a review of the whole application file. The admissions team looks at previous school records, teacher references, the student questionnaire and the results of any standardised tests the child has already taken.
The school does not name a test provider and publishes no papers, subjects or timings, so there is no format to rehearse. Where relevant, additional documents may be requested, such as Educational Psychologist reports or English as an Additional Language tests. Families are told the outcome as soon as possible after the review.
11+ tutors
Hannah
Master TutorI am a UK-qualified teacher with 15+ years across private and state schools in the UK and abroad, and hold a BSc from LSE and a PGCE with QTS. I teach English, Maths, Verbal Reasoning, 11+ and Common Entrance preparation. My approach is personalised, confidence-building and rigorous.
Enquire about this tutorSochima
Master TutorI'm a qualified teacher in a London classroom every day, with a BSc in Computer Science from Brunel and a PGCE with QTS. I teach Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Computer Science to A-Level, plus 11+ preparation, through project-based work that suits SEND learners well.
Enquire about this tutorRobert
Master TutorI am a qualified teacher with over twenty years' experience in the UK, Gulf and New Zealand, holding an MA in History and PGCE. I teach English, History, Geography and French from KS2 to A-Level and IB, preparing 11+/13+ candidates. My approach is student-led, focused and diagnostic.
Enquire about this tutorRegistration and the admissions timeline
Registration happens online through the school's application portal, and applications are accepted all year provided the child has the right to study in the UK. The sequence runs in five steps, and no closing date or assessment date is published for any grade.
- Enquiry: an open day or personal tour is recommended, and a private tour, open day or Zoom meeting with the team can be arranged
- Application: submitted online with the documents listed in the next section and a non-refundable application fee paid by debit or credit card
- Review: the admissions team assesses the file and may ask for further reports
- Admission: successful applicants receive an offer, and the place is secured with a refundable enrolment deposit
- Welcome: before the first day, families receive information on the cafeteria, transport, school platforms, subject selection and visa compliance
References, documents and learning support
The application asks for school reports in English from the last three years, signed and stamped by the issuing school, and two teacher reference forms that are downloaded within the application portal. An age-appropriate student questionnaire is also completed there, and the results of any standardised tests are included. Records not in English need official translations from an authorised body.
Families of children who receive learning support add an Educational Psychological Evaluation and an Individual Education Plan. The school supports mild to moderate learning needs, subject to admission requirements and available places, and cannot support severe behavioural, emotional or learning difficulties. English language support exists at all ages, with proficiency requirements applying from Grade 8.
Scholarships and bursaries
ACS Egham lists means-tested bursaries and no academic, music, sport, art or drama scholarships on the pages read. Awards can cover up to 100 percent of tuition fees, and specific costs such as busing, activities and IT equipment may be included depending on the award. Awards run for up to seven years and are reviewed annually.
Eligibility requires strong personal and academic potential, family finances that prevent payment of full fees, UK residence with the right to remain, and a home within the school's busing catchment area. Each application is individually assessed on parents' income and financial assets, with supporting documents submitted. The bursary page states when the programme is suspended for an intake and when the next schedule is published, so families check it first.
Fees and what they include
ACS Egham charges day tuition that rises by grade band from Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 12, invoiced twice a year per semester; the published amounts are on the school's fees page. Tuition includes textbook loans, laboratory fees, classroom materials, single-day curriculum field trips and an iPad up to Grade 8. Grades 11 and 12 tuition also covers university placement costs such as transcripts, diplomas and university and career planning.
One-off charges comprise a non-refundable application fee with each application, a refundable enrolment deposit paid after acceptance and a non-refundable campus and development fee charged once in the first year for Grades K to 12. The deposit is credited against second-semester tuition and is returned within three months of contract termination, net of any unpaid amounts.
Extras include busing, lunch, IB exam fees, university application fees, an IT service fee for Grades 9 to 12 and moderate special educational needs support, whilst mild support is included in tuition.
Entry to the IB Diploma years at 16+
Entry at 16+ means joining Grade 11, where students aged 16 to 18 take the IB Diploma Programme or the ACS High School Diploma pathway. The school publishes no GCSE grade requirements, entrance papers or interview for this stage, and the IB Diploma page points families to the admissions team for entry questions.
Applicants follow the same application as other grades, with reports, two teacher references, the questionnaire and any standardised test results. The IB Diploma involves six subjects, three at Higher Level and three at Standard Level, plus Theory of Knowledge, a 4,000-word Extended Essay and Creativity, Activity and Service. Students on the High School Diploma pathway take Theory of Knowledge in Grade 11.
Where pupils join from
Pupils join ACS Egham from schools across London, Berkshire and Surrey, and the school draws families from over 50 nationalities. No fixed catchment area governs admission, although the busing service covers London, Berkshire and Surrey with shuttle, door-to-door and late bus options, and the bursary programme requires a home within the busing catchment area.
The Lower School and Upper School sit on one 36-acre campus, with the Upper School starting at age 11. The school publishes no named feeder or partner schools and no separate transfer process for its own younger pupils, so every applicant follows the same application route. Heathrow is about 20 minutes from the campus.
How to prepare
Preparation for ACS Egham centres on assembling a complete file, because the review rests on school reports, teacher references, the questionnaire and any test results. Requesting signed and stamped English reports from the last three years and the two reference forms early gives the current school time, and certified translations suit records in other languages.
Visiting through an open day, personal tour or Zoom meeting lets a child see the campus before the questionnaire is completed. Families with learning support needs gather the Educational Psychological Evaluation and Individual Education Plan, and applicants to Grade 8 and above who are learning English discuss proficiency with the admissions team. As no exam papers exist, calm preparation means familiarity with the IB programme the child will join.
Related guides
- Best private schools in Surrey
- Independent school fees compared
- Reigate Grammar School (11+)
- Royal Grammar School Guildford (11+)
- Claremont Fan Court School (11+)
- Epsom College (11+)
- The 11+ entrance exam explained
- The 7+ entrance exam explained
- 11+ and 13+ scholarship exams explained
- What is a bursary? Private school bursaries explained
Preparing for the ACS Egham International School 11+ with Taylor Tuition
Families preparing for the ACS Egham International School 11+ usually come to us a year or so before the assessment, though shorter runs work where the foundations are already sound. Having prepared pupils for entry to leading independent and grammar schools, with placements including Westminster, St Paul's, Wycombe Abbey and Eton, our tutors build each programme around the format the school actually uses, whether a written paper, an online pre-test, an interview or a combination of them.
More than half of our tutors hold Qualified Teacher Status and around three in five hold a master's degree or doctorate, and the pool includes former heads of department, exam-board examiners and teachers from independent and boarding schools, so the preparation is led by people who know how selective schools assess. Every tutor who works with children holds an enhanced DBS check.
Families work with us online from anywhere in the UK or abroad, and in person in central London. Fees start from £50 per 50-minute session and depend on tutor level and subject, with no registration fee and a free initial consultation to talk through your child's current level and the timeline to the 11+. Families receive progress reports after sessions and have a dedicated point of contact.
Read more about our 11+ entrance exam tutors, or send an enquiry and we will come back with tutor recommendations.
Frequently asked questions
- Does ACS Egham have an entrance exam?
- No entrance exam is required. Each applicant is assessed individually using previous school records, teacher references, student questionnaire answers and any standardised test scores. Additional documents such as Educational Psychologist reports or English as an Additional Language tests may be requested where relevant.
- How much are ACS Egham fees?
- Day tuition rises by grade band from Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 12 and is invoiced per semester. The amounts are on the school's fees page, along with a non-refundable application fee, a refundable enrolment deposit and a one-off campus and development fee for Grades K to 12.
- When does registration for ACS Egham open?
- Admissions are rolling, so applications are accepted throughout the year provided the child has the right to study in the UK. The school advises applying early because availability is limited, and a full grade leads to a waiting list. No closing date is published.
- Does ACS Egham offer scholarships or bursaries?
- The pages read list means-tested bursaries and no academic, music or sport scholarships. Awards can cover up to 100 percent of tuition fees for up to seven years, reviewed annually, and applicants must live within the busing catchment area. The programme can be suspended for an intake.
- What is the catchment area for ACS Egham?
- There is no fixed catchment area for admission. The school's busing service runs to London, Berkshire and Surrey, and the families come from over 50 nationalities. A home within the busing catchment area is a condition of the bursary programme.
- How does a student join the sixth form at ACS Egham?
- Students join Grade 11 at ages 16 to 18 for the IB Diploma Programme or the High School Diploma pathway. The school publishes no GCSE grade requirements or entrance papers for this stage, so the admissions team confirms entry criteria after an application.
Enquire about 11+ preparation
Start your enquiryHow Taylor Tuition can help
Expert, one-to-one support from specialist tutors.
Editorial Notice
We use automated research tools to help collate and maintain information across our website. While each post is reviewed before publication, some details may be incomplete or inaccurate.
Free 11+ familiarisation pack
English, Maths, Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning, with mark schemes.
Taylor Tuition
Educational Consultancy
Contributing expert insights on education, exam preparation, and effective learning strategies to help students reach their full potential.
